Catholic System


The Calgary Catholic School District (CCSD) is the largest Catholic school district in Alberta. There are currently over 57,900 students enrolled in the CCSD's 118 schools, from kindergarten to high school, located in Calgary, Airdrie, Cochrane, Chestermere and Rocky View County. 

The school board’s mission is to “empower students to reach their full potential, to meet the challenges of life, to serve their community and to journey in faith with God, through Christ, in the Spirit.”


Here are some quick facts about the Calgary Catholic School District and its schools:

  • It was founded in 1885
  • There are 56 elementary schools (Kindergarten – Grade 6)
  • There are 40 elementary/junior high schools combined
  • There are five junior high schools (Grades 7 – 9)
  • There are three junior/senior high schools combined
  • There are nine senior high schools (Grade 10 – 12)
  • There are two congregated gifted special education schools
  • There is one elementary/junior/senior high combined school
Back To Top ▲

Alternative Programs

Language Programs

The Calgary Catholic School District offers language programs in its elementary, junior and senior high schools:

  • French immersion is offered in 19 schools
  • Filipino language and culture is offered at Bishop McNally
  • Italian language and culture is offered at St. Alphonsus, St. Maria Goretti and St. Jean Brebeuf School
  • International Spanish is offered at eight different schools

Other Programs

The Calgary Catholic School District offers numerous alternative and special education programs, including:

  • Home study
  • Single gender
  • Special needs
  • Workplace school
  • Sports performance
  • Advanced placement
  • Self-directed learning
  • Science and technology
  • International baccalaureate
  • Congregated gifted program
  • English as a second language
  • Hockey Canada Skills Academy
Back To Top ▲