Government of Canada


The Government of Canada is the federal democratic administration of Canada. The roles of the many people and institutions that constitute Canada's government are:

Photo Left: Edmonton Journal by Ryan Photography.

Prime Minister of Canada

The Prime Minister of Canada is head of the Canadian government and the leader of the Canadian federal political party electing the most members to the Canadian House of Commons during a general election. The Prime Minister has the responsibility to select the members that form the rest of the Cabinet.

In the 2019 federal election, the Liberal Party under current Prime Minister of Canada, Justin Trudeau's, leadership returned to prominence with winning 157 seats, to form a minority government. 

Back To Top ▲

Government of Alberta


Alberta is divided into 87 different constituencies. The candidate who wins the most number of votes in each constituency becomes the Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) for that district. Key positions that make up the Alberta Government are:


Premier of Alberta

The Premier of Alberta is the head of government for the province. When elected, the Premier represents the leader of the party who wins the majority vote throughout all ridings.

Jason Kenney was sworn in as Alberta's 18th Premier on April 30, 2019. He led his party to an election victory with 55% of the popular vote in a campaign focused on economic growth and advocating a fair deal for Alberta in the Canadian federation.

Back To Top ▲

The City of Calgary


The current members of Calgary City Council broken down by ward are:

  • Naheed Nenshi - Mayor of Calgary
  • Ward Sutherland - Ward 1
  • Joe Magliocca - Ward 2
  • Jyoti Gondek - Ward 3
  • Sean Chu - Ward 4
  • George Chahal - Ward 5
  • Jeff Davison - Ward 6
  • Druh Farrell - Ward 7
  • Evan Woolley - Ward 8
  • Gian-Carlo Carra - Ward 9
  • Ray Jones - Ward 10
  • Jeromy Farkas - Ward 11
  • Shane Keating - Ward 12
  • Diane Colley-Urquhart - Ward 13
  • Peter Demong - Ward 14

For more information about Calgary City Council, visit City of Calgary.

Mayor of Calgary

Mayor Naheed Nenshi is serving his third term and has been Calgary's 36th mayor for 10 years. Under his leadership, Calgary experienced many positive changes in regards to building better communties, keeping Calgarians moving, and transforming government. Mayor Nenshi has been an active spokesperson for the Be Part of the Energy Campaign, travelling to both the East and West coasts to share the Calgary story.

As a result of his visionary leadership of how a city should plan for its future, Mayor Nenshi was named the winner of the 2014 World Mayor Prize. Mayor Nenshi is also extremely active and engaged on social media. Follow him on Twitter for a taste of life in Calgary right from the Mayor himself!

Back To Top ▲